top of page

BIOGRAFIE

Die ganze Geschichte

Dan Marginean wurde in Rumänien geboren, wo er im Alter von zehn Jahren auch mit dem Klavierunterricht begann. Er schloss mit der Bestnote das „Gh. Dima“ Musikakademie in Cluj-Napoca, wo Adriana Bera, Daniel Goiti, Silvia Sbarciu und viele andere zu seinen Lehrern gehörten.

2010 gewann Dan ein rumänisches Regierungsstipendium, um sein Grundstudium am Royal College of Music in London abzuschließen. Im Juli 2012 schloss er sein Studium mit Auszeichnung ab und wurde in seinem Studium von Niel Immelman (Principal Study - Piano) und Elizabeth Burley (Related Study -  Begleitung).

Ebenfalls bei RCM absolvierte Dan einen gemeinsamen Dirigierkurs, eine ältere Leidenschaft von ihm.

Im Mai 2012 wurde Dan ein Stipendium der Schweizer Regierung angeboten, um sein Masterstudium an der Haute École de Musique de Lausanne unter der Leitung von Professor Jean-François Antonioli fortzusetzen. Während seines Studiums an der HEMU setzte Dan sein Dirigierstudium fort und belegte einen gemeinsamen Kurs für historische Instrumente – Cembalo. Im Juni 2021 schloss Dan ein einjähriges Certificate of Advanced Studies in Orchestral Piano an der Musikhochschule Zürich in der Klasse von Peter Solomon ab.

Dan ist Preisträger mehrerer nationaler und internationaler Klavierwettbewerbe, wie z. „Sigismund Toduta“, Cluj-Napoca, „Schumann Song Competition“, London (Begleiterpreis), „Lions Club Musikpreis“, Deutschland und mehrfacher Preisträger der Nationalen rumänischen Musikolympiade.

Im Laufe der Jahre hat Dan Konzerte im Rumänischen Athenaeum, in der Radio Hall in Cluj-Napoca gegeben und Konzerte in Frankreich, der Schweiz, Deutschland, Österreich, Spanien, Italien, Polen, Südafrika und ganz Großbritannien gegeben, von denen einige live übertragen wurden. Er nahm auch an Meisterkursen in ganz Europa mit Professoren wie Paul Badura-Skoda, Kevin Kenner, Barry Douglas und Peter Donohoe teil, um nur einige zu nennen.

Zu erwähnen sind unter anderem die Teilnahme am Lang Lang Inspires Mass Concert, das in der Royal Festival Hall stattfand, und Auftritte an anderen Orten wie St. James's Picadilly, St. Martin-in-the-Fileds, Steinway Hall, London und der Romanischen Schweiz.

Dan absolvierte einen zweiten Master in Collaborative Piano an der HEMU und studierte bei Professoren wie Marc Pantillion, Beatrice Richoz, Todd Camburn und Vincent Coq (Trio Wanderer). Er begleitete die Klasse von Gesangslehrern wie Janis Kelly, Russel Smythe, Leontina Vaduva, Brigitte Balleys und arbeitet momentan für das Lausanner Opernstudio der  Ribaupierre Musikinstitut  unter der Leitung der rumänischen Sopranistin Ioana Bentoiu.

Zwei Jahre lang hatte Dan auch den Keyboardstuhl des „Young Musicians Symphony Orchestra“ inne.

Im Ausland hat der junge Pianist seine Energie stets in die Förderung der Kultur seines Heimatlandes Rumänien investiert. Als Beweis arbeitete er mit dem Rumänischen Kulturinstitut in London, "The Romanian House in Switzerland" und der rumänischen Botschaft in der Schweiz für verschiedene künstlerische und kulturelle Projekte zusammen. Eine der jüngsten war die Live-Übertragung seiner Masterarbeit „Der Einfluss der französischen Schule auf den Musikstil von George Enescu“ im Schweizerischen Nationalradio. Dan ist ein aktives Mitglied von  Crescendo International  sowie Gründer und Präsident des Schweizerischen Kulturvereins  Crescendo-Künstler .

Dan absolvierte ebenfalls ein Pädagogik-Didaktik-Studium und begann früh in seiner Karriere zu unterrichten. In London unterrichtete er Klavier an zwei Spezialschulen und war im Laufe der Jahre mit vielen anderen Schülern aller Altersgruppen und Niveaus erfolgreich.

Im Moment spielt Dan Solo- und Kammermusikkonzerte in ganz Europa und im Ausland und unterrichtet Klavier an mehreren Schulen in der französischen Schweiz.

bottom of page

BIOGRAPHY

The Full Story

Dan Marginean was born in Romania where he also began studying piano at the age of ten. He graduated with the highest mark from the “Gh. Dima” Music Academy in Cluj-Napoca, where his teachers included Adriana Bera, Daniel Goiti, Silvia Sbarciu and many others.

In 2010 Dan won a Romanian Governmental Scholarship to complete his Undergraduate studies at the Royal College of Music, London. In July 2012 he graduates with Distinction, being guided in his studies by Niel Immelman (Principal Study - Piano) and Elizabeth Burley (Related Study -  Accompaniment).

Also in RCM, Dan did a joint course in conducting, an older passion of his.

In May 2012, Dan was offered a Swiss Governmental Scholarship to continue his Masters studies at the Haute École de Musique de Lausanne under the guidance of Professor Jean-François Antonioli. While studying at the HEMU, Dan continued his studies in conducting and took a joint course in historical instruments – Harpsichord. In June 2021 Dan graduated a one year Certificate of Advanced Studies in Orchestral Piano at the Zürich Music University in the class of Peter Solomon.

Dan is the laureate of several national and international piano competitions, such as: “Pro Piano”, Bucharest, “J.S.Bach”, Cluj-Napoca, “W.A.Mozart”, Targoviste, “George Georgescu”, Tulcea and winner of prizes in many others: “Sigismund Toduta”, Cluj-Napoca, “Schumann Song Competition”, London (Accompanist Prize), “Lions Club Musikpreis”, Germany and several times prize winner of National Romanian Olympics of Music.

Through the years, Dan has performed recitals at The Romanian Athenaeum, Radio Hall in Cluj-Napoca and given concerts in France, Switzerland, Germany, Austria, Spain, Italy, Poland, South Africa and throughout UK, some of which broadcasted live. He also took part in Master Classes around Europe with professors such as Paul Badura-Skoda, Kevin Kenner, Barry Douglas, Peter Donohoe just to mention a few.

Among other events is to be noted also the participation in the Lang Lang Inspires Mass Concert, which took place at the Royal Festival Hall and performances in other venues such as in St. James's Picadilly, St. Martin-in-the-Fileds, Steinway Hall, London and Suisse Romande.

Dan graduated a second Masters in collaborative piano at the HEMU and studied with professors such as Marc Pantillion, Beatrice Richoz, Todd camburn and Vincent Coq (Trio Wanderer). He accompanied the class of vocal teachers such as Janis Kelly, Russel Smythe, Leontina Vaduva, Brigitte Balleys and works for the moment for the Lausanne based opera studio of the Ribaupierre Music Institute led by Romanian soprano Ioana Bentoiu.

For two years, Dan also held the keyboard chair of the “Young Musicians Symphony Orchestra”.

Overseas, the young pianist has always invested his energy in promoting the culture of his native country, Romania. As evidence, he collaborated with the Romanian Cultural Institute in London, "The Romanian House in Switzerland" and the Romanian Embassy in Switzerland for different artistic and cultural projects. One of the most recent ones being the live broadcast of his master's thesis "The influence of the French school on the musical style of George Enescu" on the Swiss National Radio. Dan is an active member of Crescendo International as well as the founder and president of Swiss Cultural Association Crescendo Artists.

Dan completed a pedagogy-didactics course as well and started teaching early in his career. In London he taught piano in two speciality schools and through the years he has been succesful with many other students of all ages and levels.

For the moment Dan is playing solo and chamber music concerts around Europe and abroad and teaches piano in several schools in the French part of Switzerland.